Bellingham National 2015 Art Exhibition & Awards

May 31, 2015 - September 6, 2015

Lightcatcher Building

May 31 – September 6, 2015, Lightcatcher Building

Juried by Scott Lawrimore, Director of the Jacob Lawrence Gallery, University of Washington

Kalee Appleton, Untitled 2, Archival Inkjet Print (binary collage), 2014

Kalee Appleton, Untitled 2, Archival Inkjet Print (binary collage), 2014

Bellingham National Art Exhibition & Awards is¬†a juried exhibition featuring artworks in a variety of media, including video, photography, ceramics, mixed media, paintings and more. Representing artists from 16 states, including Washington, the exhibition includes 101 pieces from more than 60 artists. Juried by Scott Lawrimore, Director of the Jacob Lawrence Gallery, University of Washington, the exhibition attracted more than 600 artists who submitted works to be considered. Lawrimore selected pieces that inspire not only a sense of wonderment, but also curiosity and reflection about the meanings of art. “There is a strong undercurrent of social justice, gender identity, ecological, human rights, and other political issues running throughout the exhibition,” says Lawrimore. “While this represents some of the societal concerns of artists working in the 21st¬†century, I also wanted there to be pure aesthetic reflection and contemplation ‘breaks’‚Ķof art with more formal concerns.”

The top three artists were announced at the May 30th opening reception and received cash awards–$2,000 first prize, $1,000 second prize and $500 third prize.

1st Place: Alison Bremner, Kingston, Washington
2nd Place: Robert Campbell, Vashon, Washington
3rd Place: Rengin Holt, Blackburg, Virginia

The exhibition also includes a popular choice award of $500, offering the community an opportunity to give their feedback on the artworks. Votes can be cast at the exhibition between May 31-August 2, 2015. The popular choice winner will be announced at the Downtown Art Walk on Fri., August 7, 2015 at the Lightcatcher building.

About Scott Lawrimore: As a curator, writer, art historian, and gallerist, Scott Lawrimore has dedicated his career to championing contemporary artists. He was recently appointed the first director of the Jacob Lawrence Gallery, University of Washington. From 2012-2014, Lawrimore was deputy director of collections and exhibitions at the Frye Art Museum, where he curated historical exhibitions drawn from the collection as well as innovative contemporary shows, such as the forty-year retrospective, Buster Simpson // Surveyor. Lawrimore held positions with Art Access Magazine, Foster/White Gallery, Davidson Galleries, and Greg Kucera Gallery before opening his own space, Lawrimore Project, in 2006. He also taught for graduate and undergraduate students in various colleges and universities. He holds a bachelor of art degree in art history from the University of California, Davis, and a master of art degree in art history from Sacramento State University.

Juror’s Perspective:¬†Walk through the exhibition with juror Scott Lawrimore on Sun., May 31, 1pm at the Lightcatcher Building. More info here.


Renee Adams, Thorp, WA

Judy Allen, Seattle, WA

Matthew Allen, Seattle, WA

Julie Alpert, Seattle, WA

David Andersen, Salem, OR

Kalee Appleton, Richardson, TX

Howard Barlow & Lorraine Barlow, Ellensburg, WA

Justin Beckman, Ellensburg, WA

Mike Bray, Eugene, OR

Rachel Breen, Minneapolis, MN

Alison Bremner, Kingston, WA

Ryan Burns, Ashland, OR

Robert Campbell, Vashon, WA

Peter Clouse, Royal Oak, MI

Renee Couture, Glide, OR

Ellie Dicola, Seattle, WA

Priscilla Dobler, Tacoma, WA

Carolyn Doucette, Santa Barbara, CA

Joe Doyle, Moscow, ID

Lacy Draper, Seattle, WA

Roger Feldman, Seattle, WA

Julia Freeman, Seattle, WA

Justin Gibbens, Thorp, WA

Cable Griffith, Seattle, WA

John Holmgren & Nick Conbere, Ellensburg, WA

Rengin Holt, Blacksburg, VA

Weston Horner, Bellingham, WA

Gail Howard, Seattle, WA

Eric Huebsch, Los Angeles, CA

Britta Johnson, Seattle, WA

Andrew Keating, New York, NY

Paul Komada, Seattle, WA

Amanda Lee, Seattle, WA

Lisa Liedgren, Seattle, WA

Francesca Lohmann, Seattle, WA

Jenna Lynch, Kent, CT

Amie McNeel, Seattle, WA

Squeak Meisel, Pullman, WA

Andrew Merriss, Santa Rosa, CA

Elizabeth Mesa-Gaido, Morehead, KY

Carlyle Miller, Seattle, WA

Coley Mixan, Omaha, NE

Anna Mlasowsky, Seattle, WA

Ryan Molenkamp, Seattle, WA

Yuki Nakamura, Tacoma, WA

Dylan Neuwirth, Seattle, WA

Nicholas Nyland, Tacoma, WA

Gina Occhiogrosso, Troy, NY

Keri Oldham, Brooklyn, NY

Mystical Orchid, Seattle, WA

Joseph Pentheroudakis, Seattle, WA

Alyson Provax, Portland, OR

Keeara Rhoades, Seattle, WA

Paul Rickert, Bainbridge Island, WA

Stephanie Robison, Oakland, CA

Joe Rudko, Seattle, WA

Serrah Russell, Seattle, WA

Harriet Sanderson, Seattle, WA

Natalie Schmidt Dotzauer, Thorp, WA

Rodrigo Valenzuela, Houston, TX

Ellen Ziegler, Seattle, WA

Dion Zwirner, Bainbridge Island, WA