Light blue background with gold kintsugi type lines along the top with the words "Acts of Healing and Repair" in the center in gold with a circle logo on the left that is a dark teal circle with gold kintsugi lines.

Bellingham National 2023 Juried Art Exhibition

November 11, 2023 - February 25, 2024

Lightcatcher Building

The Whatcom Museum presents its fourth biennial juried art exhibition, Bellingham National. Grace Kook-Anderson, the Arlene and Harold Schnitzer Curator of Northwest Art at the Portland Art Museum, is the guest juror and has selected finalists from among more than 1,000 submitted artworks for a three-month show in the Lightcatcher building. Visual artists from across the United States – both long-established and up & coming – vied for a chance to exhibit their works at the Whatcom Museum and to be considered for one of three Juror’s Choice Awards. Those works span the visual arts, from video, painting, and sculpture to textile and glass, and all reflect the exhibition’s theme of healing and repair.

Over the course of the exhibition, museum visitors can vote for an artwork to receive a People’s Choice Award, to be announced in late February.

Juror’s Choice Award winners were announced at the opening reception on November 11, 2023. All winners will receive a cash prize, and the first-place winner will also receive a future spotlight exhibition at the Whatcom Museum.

1st prize: Io PalmerUnruly Foliage

2nd prize: Federico CuatlacuatlTiemperos del Antropoceno: TEWAME TIYOLICHA KAWITL

3rd prize: Renee Noelle CheesmanPurification of Guilt

A People’s Choice Award will also be announced the last week of the exhibition after visitors have had a chance to cast their votes



Bellingham National 2023 Invited Artists

Molly Abromitis (WA)

Leah Aegerter (CO)

Liz Alpert Fay (CT)

Saif Alsaegh (CA)

Neville Barbour (MD)

Ashlie Benton (CA)

Neil Berkowitz (WA)

Britt Block (OR)

Lindy Boustedt (WA)

Connie Cagampang Heller (CA)

Federico Cuatlacuatl (VA)

Cynthia Camlin (WA)

Renee Noelle Cheesman (WA)

Margaret Chodos-Irvine (WA)

Jinseok Choi (CA)

Annie Claflin (CA)

Zoë Cohen (OR)

Jo Cosme (WA)

Isabell Daniel (GA)

Devon Dille (WA)

Edie Dillon (AZ)

Julie Sevilla Drake (WA)

Elizabeth Duffy (RI)

Ethan Edward (NY)

Nina Elder (NM)

Lucia Enriquez (WA)

Daniel Esquivia Zapata (AL)

Rheana Gardner (UT)

Audrey Geyer (MI)

Hazel Glass (OR)

Debra Goldman (WA)

Terri Grant (WA)

Lois Harbaugh (WA)

Aisha Harrison (WA)

Andrea Joyce Heimer (WA)

Valerie Hird (VT)

Alex Hirsch (OR)

Kyung Hee Im (WA)

Emma Jones (WA)

Bella Kim (WA)

Epiphany Knedler (SD)

Sheryl Ruth Kolitsopoulos (NY)

Ling-lin Ku (PA)

Betty LaDuke (OR)

Nicki Lang (WA)

Kendra Larson (OR)

Melissa Ling (NY)

Margie Livingston (WA)

Anna Macrae (WA)

Lisa McShane (WA)

Squeak Meisel (WA)

Katie Miller (WA)

Peter Millet (WA)

Eva Montealegre (CA)

Jenene Nagy (CA)

Gabriela Nirino (WA)

Mayowa Nwadike (NY)

Jose Ochoa (IL)

Io Palmer (WA)

Susan Ressler (NM)

Mary Rowland (WA)

Amanda Salov (WA),

Kamran Samimi (HI)

Christine Sauerteig-Pilaar (NJ)

Kristie Severn (WA)

Janet Silver (WA)

Mark Smith (OR)

Sheila Sondik (WA)

Mami Takahashi (OR)

Lena Takamori (WA)

David Tucker (WA)

Audrey Tulimiero Welch (CA)

Sarah Vaughn (NC)

Roberta Wagner (WA)

Alana Walters (PA)

Chansong Woo (AL)

The Whatcom Museum acknowledges that we gather on the traditional territory of the Lhaq’temish – Lummi People – and the Nuxwsá7aq – Nooksack People – who have lived in the Coast Salish region from time immemorial. The Museum honors our relationship with all of our Coast Salish neighbors and our shared responsibilities to their homeland where we all reside today.